New Journey

It occurred to me today as I’m doing my daughters laundry for the last time for a while that I’m not sure how I’m going to cope with my baby girl going to college 15 hours away.  Then I thought that I can’t be the only mom or parent that has gone, is going, or will go through this process.  For me, writing out my comments and feelings will help, so here goes…….

First our history.  My daughter Caley is my oldest of 2 and my son Nicholas will be leaving for college next year, so double whammy!  We are a close family, my husband Will and I are high school sweethearts and have been together for 25 years and married for 22 years.  We started our family at a young age and neither of us went to college full time.  We were married 2 months after I graduated high school, which I would not change for anything.  I’m a REALTOR® and a trainer.  My daughter and I have been good friends for years.  We go shopping, spend time together just running errands or watch movies together.  Caley is a “doer” and as I call it a “go girl” like me.  Meaning she likes to go and do things.  I’m going to miss having my buddy and friend to go with me.

A little about Caley, our artist.  She is very talented and can draw, paint, water color, design and create amazing pictures and animation.  She is going to Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) in Savannah, GA for college.  Since we live in Oklahoma, that will put her about about 15 hours away. 😦  She is following her dreams and going to school for computer animation and special effects in movies.  We could not be prouder of her.  She has not just art talent, but she graduated with honors and a 4.3GPA.  She also played softball and while she was not the star of the team, she played with all her heart and gave all she had to support her team.  Don’t take that wrong, she can play, but it was not her dream to go to college on a softball scholarship.

Back to what brings me to this blog today.  Emotions and feelings are a funny thing.  I have not really sat and cried about her leaving and honestly it has not really hit me much.  Will and I had a moment in the car last weekend where we heard a song by Tim McGraw, My Baby Girl.  The words hit home and we both broke out into tears at the thought of our girl leaving for college.  It also talks about a boy marrying her and Caley has an adorable boyfriend that has given her a promise ring before he left for college and we will be ecstatic to have him as part of our family one day!!  I may not write a lot each day, but plan on writing at least a little something to get me through this journey and since I will be going on this journey again next year, this could be a long blog.  If anyone does decide to read this, I hope this helps you too.  If no one reads this at all, that’s ok too, because writing it will help this mother cope with sending her kids to college.  Now it’s time to go back to laundry since we leave in 2 days to take her to Savannah!!

Let our journey begin!

Leave a Reply

